Mudtown Station Brewery and Restaurant offers a fun meeting place in the east harbour of Owen Sound that celebrates both the history of the city and the talents of our present-day residents. Food produced locally paired with the best our area has to offer in craft beer sets the stage for a great time.
Once a gritty area of Owen Sound, Mudtown was known for its speakeasies in the long dry years of our city. It seemed only appropriate to rename the old CPR station and once again start brewing.
Built in 1946, the station has been awarded historical designation by the Ontario Heritage Trust. In partnership with the City of Owen Sound, owner of the building, Mudtown Station is proud to preserve the stations unique architecture while repurposing the building to contribute to a growing and vibrant downtown.
Come and experience a wide variety of craft beers prepared on site in our brewery by Morag plus guest taps from other local brewers. Paired with a menu featuring locally sourced ingredients and prepared by Tyler the kitchen, we offer you a unique dinning experience in Owen Sound.
Celebrate with us the past but enjoy the present – great beer, great food and a great view from the patio.
Led by brew-master Morag Kloeze and chef Tyler Cunningham, we are happy to be able to provide a unique experience in the local area. Mudtown Station will be the new destination for dining and beer tasting with seating for 80 indoors and 80 on our lovely waterview patio.
We invite you to come and experience our offerings which are centered around a variety of craft beers prepared by Morag in our brewery plus guest taps from other local brewers. The beer will be paired with a variety of menu offerings featuring locally sourced ingredients prepared by Tyler and his crew in our kitchen.
The original station was built in the 1870s by the Toronto Grey and Bruce Railway and by 1883 the Canadian Pacific Railway took over and established a steamship service connecting Port Arthur (now Thunder Bay) to Owen Sound. It’s rival, CN was built directly across the harbour and this building remains intact today and preserves the history of the Port of Owen Sound in the Waterfront Marine & Rail Museum.